## STUDENTS' REPRESENTATIVE COUNCIL (SRC) ELECTIONS, 2022

The Students Representative Council (SRC) elections could not be conducted for the last two years due to the CoViD-19 pandemic. The SRC Elections 2022 was held on 20<sup>th</sup> December, 2022 according to the timeline provided by the Education Department, Government of Sikkim.

Poll process started from 2<sup>nd</sup> December, 2022 with the declaration of election date by the Head of the Institution, Dr. D. Purohit, Principal, NBBGC. An election commission was constituted by the Principal with the following members:

Dr. Pramila Chettri - Election Commissioner

Mrs. Kavita Jaishi Member Dr. Chanchal Das Member Dr. Sonam T Bhutia Member Dr. Rashmi Bala Gurung Member Mr. Tashi T. Bhutia Member Dr. Nima T. Lepcha Member Mr. Bidur Chettri Member Mr. Subash Gurung Member Mr. Sunil Lamichaney Member

Filing of nominations started from 5<sup>th</sup> December, 2022 and the final list of candidates was published on 14<sup>th</sup> December, 2022. Campaigning for SRC Elections ended on 17<sup>th</sup> December, 2022.

Students were assigned a dedicated place to display their campaign materials, such as handwritten/painted posters. They were also allowed to campaign inside the classrooms with permission of the teachers.

Elections were held for the post of President, General Secretary and Treasurer as well as Class Representatives of all the Semesters of B.A., B.Sc. B.Com. and B.Voc. There were 9 candidates contesting for the post of President, 2 candidates for the post of General Secretary and 4 candidates for the post of Treasurer. At least 5 Class Representatives were elected unopposed while the rest had to contest against each other.

On the day of election, Mr. G.L. Meena, I.A.S., Assistant District Collector, East District, was present as an Observer, representing Government of Sikkim. Mr. Ujjwal Rai, Additional Secretary, Department of Education was the observer from the Education Department, Government of Sikkim. The election was completed successfully with helpful guidance from the Principal, Dr. D. Purohit, and Deputy Secretary,

Mrs. Doma Zimba Rai, Administrative Officer, NBBGC. Faculty members of all Departments as well as members and administrative staff worked actively in conducting the elections as Presiding and Polling Officers. Assistance was also provided by personnel from Sikkim Police.

Counting of ballots and publication of result was completed on the same day. The final result of SRC Election 2022 is as follows:

BISHWA HANG SUBBA - PRESIDENT

2. JIGME WANGCHUK BHUTIA - GENERAL SECRETARY

3. ANIL SHARMA - TREASURER

4. PASSANG TSHERING SHERPA - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.VOC I SEM

5. CHRISTINA CHETTRI - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.VOC V SEM

6. CHANDRA LAL CHETTRI - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.COM I SEM

7. SMITI TAMANG - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.COM III SEM

8. ASHIKA RASAILY - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.COM V SEM

9. ABINASH ADHIKARI - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.SC I SEM

10. AJAY CHETTRI - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.SC III SEM

11. KABITA KHARKA - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.SC V SEM

12. PREM KUMAR KAMI - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.A I SEM

13. PUJA ACHARYA - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.A III SEM

14. SMRITI BISWAKARMA - CLASS REPRESENTATIVE B.A V SEM

## **Visuals from Election Day**



Pic 1: A student casting her vote



Pic 2: Voting process in action



Pic 3: (L-R) Mr. G. L. Meena, Dr. D. Purohit, Dr. Namrata Thapa



Pic 4: (L-R) Mr. Ujjwal Rai, Dr. Chongtick Lachungpa, Dr. Pramila Koirala, Dr. Gita Niroula, Dr. Passang Tamang



Pic 5: Anxious students awaiting declaration of results



Pic 6: Principal congratulating the new President, SRC, Biswa Hang Subba



Pic 7: Swearing in ceremony of new office bearers, SRC 2022